Contributed by: Claire Ingoldsby.

Artist: Young Dubliners.

Album: Nine.

Release Date: March 4, 2014.

The Young Dubliners are frequently featured on our show, Slan Eire.  With their upbeat renditions of classic Irish songs along with their own original compositions, they are a great addition to the Irish music genre.  Their newest album, Nine, is so titled because this is the ninth album they have put out.  It is a great mix of their styles with some energetic songs as well as ones that are mellower.  My personal favorite is the song that starts off the album, “We are the Mighty”.  It’s got a good beat and you can dance to it.  A slower song is “Rain” which is a great addition to balance out the album.  The song “Seeds of Sorrow” is a great throwback with its traditional sound of an Irish dancing song.  Overall, this album is one worth listening too, along with some of the Young Dubliners collection.

Recommended if you like:  Hair of the Dog, Flogging Molly, The Irish Rovers.

Soundtrack to your life: dancing on tables and having a blast at a good Irish party.

Receives airplay onSlan Eire on Sundays from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM.